A thank-you to unknown Actors that enliven my “stages” – Stories behind photos #5

Yannis Larios Photography

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think I owe a “thank-you” note, to all unknown Actors that enliven my photography “stages”. Like this lady, in my photo!

I have been walking around in Paroikia, Paros  at the golden hour, when I reached this vista point overlooking the sea, camera always on shoulder. I had the priviledge of overlooking the entrance to the harbour. I could spot things from high above. I previsualised a picture, but it was still early in time. This would have to wait to materialise…

But until then? Nothing around… I hated to do the stereotypical empty horizons. There was no way that the eye would wander around exploring the sea and then find nothing to “rest” upon. Admittedly, no balance. No story. Thus, no photo opportunity.

Could something save me? Yes! the virtue of patience and the urge to seek…

I had the stage set, lights on (and the golden ones!), but no actors, no script. And suddenly…. Little stories forming themselves. It was time for the evening ship to come to Paros island. It was the same time that I had arrived in the island some days ago. I had spotted this large sun-disc while onboard and wanted to see this again. So I was there for a reason…. But a different story unfolded…

As the ship was becoming visible in the horizon, I “asked” for a story of return. A story of a Penelope. Such stories need not be imaginative, cause they are real. As this lady was also real! Walking leisurely, wearing her iPod earphones she noticed the ship, the hour, the colours. She probably also liked “my” stage… And then she entered, deciding to play the “Actor”. She never talked to me. I never asked her anything. She just took the most convenient position…. For her, to enjoy the view. For me to re-compose the scene.

I now had a story! I tried several views. Some higher above, some from the side. But in the end, I decided that the Actor had already made the choice for herself…. There was almost nothing for me to do, than compose the scene, and then click.

Penelope, was the title I gave to the photo. Cause this lady, took the role for herself. Never talked. But the story was written by her. I now had a photo opportunity!

4 thoughts on “A thank-you to unknown Actors that enliven my “stages” – Stories behind photos #5

  1. Pingback: » A thank-you to unknown Actors that enliven my “stages” - Stories … »Digital Photography

  2. Thank you Yannis for the photo and in-site.
    I come from Greek ancestry but have never seen the country. I have plenty of American Greek relatives, and of course many from Greece.

    We all have funny stories of our families, Greeks are unique to say the least!

    Your photo of Penelope is fantastic, and named perfectly. Not sure if you know the meaning of the name Penelope, but she was one who had a husband who went to war. She was faithful to him until he came home.

    This photo will always remain with me as the fantastic Penelope’s faithful wait finally coming to an end, he is coming home to her on the ‘ship’ coming to her. Modern with the iPod, of course, but then just as symbolic to me.

    What a great shot and story.

    CelesteCards

Leave a Reply

