Can you imagine what a travel photo entails?

Symi, Greece - Yannis Larios Photography

Symi, Greece - Yannis Larios Photography

I was recently reading a great article of Gavin Gough on Digital Photographer about Travel Photography. Gavin stroke a chord by saying that ….

Ask many people to describe the life of a travelling photographer and the odds are that they will conjure up images of a dapper fellow dressed in khaki, sporting a Panama hat and stepping jauntily along a sun-kissed, tropical beach, occassionally lifting a Leica camera to the eye to snap another award winning frame before retiring to the bar for a Pina Colada. The truth, sadly, is somewhat different from this idyllic fantasy.

Travel photography is hard work […] It demands a unique blend of stubborn determination and unflinching optimism“.

Now Gavin’s words were echoing in my ears everytime I ascended another hundred of steps with my 8kg photo backpack and 3kg tripod to search for the high-vista with a brilliant view of Symi island! Everytime that the 39 degrees Celsius, collided with a dead-end alley that permitted no view, and thus was a lost battle, I was remembering this “unflinching optimism“… There has to be something better. I have pre-visualised it! I shall not quit!

And even after you have sweated (literally!) all of the 500+ steep stairs high above, and even after you have walked and trekked, and researched and carried all this weight, and even more after you have found a rock’s corner that resembled the sweet-spot that you had imagined…  then probably it was already too late … because the light was not right!

But then comes this “stubborn determination“… It’s this strange urge that wakes you up at 6:00am next morning to push you again to ascend the same 500 stairs, to reach the same spot, but this time with the golden light that completes the picture that you already had in mind.

I dedicate the above photo, shot at 7:00am from a very high vista point of Symi island, to all fellow photographers (pros or enthusiasts) that wake up early or stay up late and alone in search of the perfect light. To all those friends that carry tens of kilos in cameras, lenses and tripods on their back, just for this liberating moment when your vision becomes a reality… 

It’s a testament that stubborness and optimism, may after all be the ingredients not just for a unique photo, but rather for meeting your vision and your inner self. See you at the next cliff!

4 thoughts on “Can you imagine what a travel photo entails?

  1. All the climb – and struggle, for a wonderful picture, how many times would you have to do it to catch dolphins in the backgroud? 😉

  2. Pingback: Can you imagine what a travel photo entails? « LightScript

  3. I guess then You surely know that the adventure is sometimes even more rewarding than the photo.
    And after all to wake up and wander around in the dawn in Symi is a wonderfull blessing experience.

    I always felt lucky to be awake at dawn and the best picture ever taken of me was exactly in Symi at dawn.

    I wish You more of that.

  4. It is always about meeting your vision and your inner self.

    I am an amateur photographer. It is only two years from my first shot (with a camera) and only 4 months from owning a dslr.
    But I consider myself a pro, cause as far as I can remember I constantly take pictures with my mind. And the pictures I take always follow my current state of mind.

    Nice meeting you Yannis.

Leave a Reply

